Reviews

To submit a review, login to My Account and visit the Certifications and CEC Credits pages from the menu.

FiTOUR® Primary Aqua Certification

3
Inexpensive but very dated(revised in 2007)
Posted April 14, 2019 by Beverley Burke.
Inexpensive but very dated (revised in 2007) however, I was able to recieve an Aqua certification in 1 day
3
objectives
Posted October 8, 2018 by Jett
As an Educator with a Master's Degree in Teaching, I'm disappointed by the changes made in your online re-certification Exam material for reviewing. The material isn't detailed in a way that teaches to the exam. A handful of the EXACT answers were only provided in the material/texts that I originally purchased years ago. I'll be sure to get those books out the next time I have to take the re-cert. But hopefully by then, the review material will have been updated to better meet the objectives of the exam.
3
Good
Posted February 24, 2018 by JE from IL
I found it a little distracting when watching the videos that people walked through the video when you were taping, that splashing noises could be heard or a class was going on when you taped, and some kind of maintenance work was being done while you were taping, which made it hard to hear you. I would also like to correct some of your terminology. A hop is performed on one foot, but a jump is performed on two feet. So, the skill of bunny hop is correct, but the double bunny hop is actually a jump. Also, when you talked about lower back flexibility, you said that a sit and reach box could be used, or a tape measure on the floor could be used. Test qualifications for safely testing lower back flexibility have changed since 2003. Please update your video to coincide with the latest test measurements for this skill, or don't even mention how it is tested. Finally, is sagital spelled with one "t" or two "t's"? It is spelled both ways.
3
don't use diagrams/typos
Posted February 28, 2017 by Tracey, VA
I use a Mac and questions 78, 79 & 80 refer to diagrams that I did not see so I basically guessed 3 answers (and probably the easiest of all 100). On the exam, if you are allowed to skip questions, you should be prompted at the end to return to those questions without having to remember which questions you skipped. It's time consuming to back arrow your way 50-60 questions. Also, in the manual as well as on line, you refer to "bounding" where it should be "bouncing." Throughout the manual there are small typos as well.
3
Aqua certificate
Posted January 18, 2017 by Anitta from Boulder Colorado
The expiration date is wrong. I think it is for two years rather than for two months.

FiTOUR® Personal Training Certification PRIMARY

3
personal trainer renewal
Posted February 7, 2019 by Personal Trainer by Eleanor
I took the renewal on line, missed one, disappointed that i couldn't see which one it was.
3
Review exam incorrect answers
Posted April 22, 2018 by John Paquet, Independent Professional Fitness Instructor
I feel part of the learning process is the ability to review incorrect answers. Unfortunately one can't do this. Additionally would rather see more practical information in the course rather than the basic science of how muscle works. A pretest would also help as other professional agencies do such as AFAA, ACE.
3
Certificate
Posted July 27, 2017 by Fitness T, Temecula, CA
Very pleased with the exam! The actual certificate looks very generic and is a disappointment.

FiTOUR® Advanced Group Exercise Certification

3
Good course
Posted November 28, 2018 by Debbie R
The course was good. One thing that bothered me was the instructor gave way too much instruction telling us, "now we will do this" for every exercise instead of keeping the instruction to a minimum.
3
Testing
Posted June 23, 2018 by Teresa
I really like participating in your programs. The only real problem I have with the testing is not being informed of the which questions I missed so that I can go back and study them to know the material better. I want to be the best instructor I can. In order to do that I need to know what I need to study more. At the end of the testing there should be a list of the questions I missed so that I can study them again.

FiTOUR® Primary Myofascial Release Foam Roller Certification

3
Worthwhile course but....
Posted September 15, 2018 by Carol Walsh from Ontario
While the course itself was good, the instructional videos were not worth watching unless you have problems reading. Nothing else was added so for me they were quite disappointing.
3
good information but the presenter ....
Posted August 9, 2018 by Tracey
It was annoying watching the presenter's eye gaze continuously wander off and read off of something. Also, dragging her voice after 3 or 4 words and then at the end of sentences got really annoying. Seems petty but after 14 videos and over 2 hours - ugh! I almost stopped the videos and just read the manual.
3
Correct answers to missed results, and Printing out certificates
Posted April 15, 2018 by Carolyn Haines
It would be nice to know the answers to the questions I got wrong. Helps in learning. Also I could not figure out a way to print out the certificate to give to my employers. I finally figured out a way but it is not in the order on the certificate that is shown and don't know if it will be accepted by my work. There should be a very easy way to print out the certificate.
3
This was a good course with a lot of information.
Posted March 20, 2018 by Marla- fitness instructor from Chicago
This is an in depth look at Myofascial Release. The information is presented well. I liked the organization of the study guide as well as the videos. The exam was not at all organized. This course takes many hours to complete. Their are fourteen chapters and fourteen videos to watch. I think the CECs should be higher for the amount of time spent learning the material.
3
Confusing but informative
Posted February 16, 2018 by Christina White, NASM CPT, Florida
Overall it wasn't terrible, however it was confusing at points in the material as some of the review questions were not always clear or didn't seem to match the material. When I have both the material and the review questions in front of me and there is no clear answer to a question, it makes it difficult to know if there really is a clear answer when one isn't in the reading. I think there needs to be a review of the material before it is available for purchase as a certification course or maybe answers should be provided as a clear way of understanding the material. Even if it's at an added cost. My 2nd issue is that the videos are of no help as the presenter is only reading the material word for word as I sit here and read along with her. It would be helpful if more answers to the questions that are in the review were in the videos provided. The test was pretty streamline to the material and I will be using the material when I preform my own foam rolling on myself as well as with my clients as needed.
3
Needs improvement
Posted January 19, 2018 by Brinajo
I love the information that I learned in this certification, however on the study material, I feel that some of the wording was confusing, and could have been laid out a little better. My biggest problem with the certification was the testing. Each question being on its own page took forever, and in order to go back to a page say 5 back would have been much easier if there was a scroll of all of the pages instead of 3 to 5 at a time. I had clicked the end of test question to find out how many more questions there were and it took me at least 5 mins. to scroll back to where I was. I also found it odd that there are no CE credits for the certification. Its continued education so should be counted. The information was good to learn though, and all in all Im happy I did it, and can share it with all of my clients.
3
Not bad.
Posted October 8, 2017 by Lori De Marco, CMT, PT, MMACS, YogaFit Instructor
The videos were pretty well done. She knew the information well though you could see she was ready the TelePrompter. I've done a number of Certification programs, paid a lot of money for some that were not as well done. Thank you.

FiTOUR® Primary Group Exercise Certification

3
How to make better
Posted September 6, 2018 by Heather Hud
The things talked about in the book are VERY out dated for some of the classes considering they are 11 almost 12 years old. Many of these classes are no longer taught. I like that the on line part covers everything that the book does so one does not need to buy the book. I like the hard copy for my self, but nice that it is offered on line as well.
3
Answers to questions
Posted June 21, 2018 by Maggie - Idaho
I like Fitour, I have 3 certification from them. My only complaint is this...we should be able to find out which questions we got wrong on our exam. How are we supposed to learn as instructors isfyou don't let us know where we need to improve. Big flaw in the system!!!
3
Great, but....
Posted September 27, 2017 by S Hardy
How do I see what questions I missed on the test? It just gave me my score, that's it.
3
Timing of Renewal
Posted February 10, 2017 by Liz
I feel it was misleading to say that I could renew my certification within 90 days of the expiration. I thought that the renewal date would correspond to my expiration date. My certification expired April 21, 2017. I took the test today February 10 in order to be a little ahead of the game and now I have lost a couple of months of time by taking the exam early. Too bad. If you are going to renew wait until right at the date to avoid losing time!
3
Does the Job
Posted December 31, 2015 by Audra, Ohio
This Fitour certification isn't something to get excited about; But it will do the job in acquiring your fitness certification.The group instructor handbook seems overwhelming at first. Just read through it several times, highlight/make notations, organize into stapled sections, and you're ready for the exam. The three hours is more than enough time to complete the 100 multiple choice questions. I think the key to becoming a good group instructor is going to have to come from immersing yourself in different classes with different instructors: Participate, take note, see what you can take/ expand on, etc. and that will be your real certification.

FiTOUR® Kettlebell Training Certification

3
Needs to be edited more!!!!
Posted April 18, 2018 by Jane from Ab-solute Fitness
I think to improve the course and test consider either a dvd or online video link examples of the exercises. Also whoever typed up the test should go over it. On one of the questions I believe it was a clean and a press were interchanged. It was common mistakes but the wrong exercise was listed. Also some type os. Otherwise I learned a lot about KB training. I practiced while reading the exercises.

FiTOUR® Boot Camp Fitness Certification

3
boot camp by the book
Posted September 24, 2017 by Jane Ab-solute fitness
The information in this program was very good, especially about the business aspect. The breakdown of the program and exercises included seem very "stick to the script" except for the variations. I would do a little bit of a more active warm-up. I also felt like some of the calisthenics should be in cardio conditioning i.e. jump ropes and jacks. The same for exercises in calisthenics good for muscle conditioning. All in all pretty good.
3
Renewal
Posted March 15, 2017 by Jim from YMCA
A lot of the questions did not have clear cut answers. One example was you can hold a plank up to 30 seconds. True or false. You should also get to review your test to see what you got wrong. Some questions were not in the study manual.

FiTOUR® Primary Indoor Cycling Certification

3
Exam
Posted January 30, 2017 by Amy Sanderson
I missed 5 on the exam but was unable to see what I missed and what correct answer was. I would like to know what I missed so I don't make the same mistake on another exam or while teaching.

FiTOUR® Primary Pilates Certification

3
Pilates test
Posted January 31, 2016 by DW
Could not find answers to 4 questions. Need to update the manual please in a better format.
3
Posted January 5, 2015 by Hattie Knight from Stone Mountain, GA

FiTOUR® Advanced Pilates Certification

3
Certificate
Posted September 28, 2014 by Anonymous
The actual certificate does not look very official. It looks like a fake that a teenage kid made.

FiTOUR® Youth Fitness Certification

3
Lacks variety for age groups
Posted July 4, 2013 by Stacey Jernigan from Bessemer, AL
Interested in more detailed examples of exercises, activities, and games for a wider range of ages, including preschoolers. Would be interested in more activities/exercises/games families can enjoy together - parent/child exercises, etc. Also, the test contains some errors.

Pages