FiTOUR® Yoga: Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga

Primary and Advanced Yoga Study Manual

FiTOUR® Yoga practice is based on the principles of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, developed by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.  This type of yoga is a dynamic and physically demanding style of Hatha Yoga; students are encouraged to use a strong breathing technique through their practice.  Ashtanga means “eight limbed” and is based on the Eight Limbs of Yoga that are the subject of the Yoga Sutras written by Patanjali, the grandfather of Yoga. Vinyasa means “linked” and represents the linking of poses together to form challenging sequences within the practice of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.  

FiTOUR® Primary Yoga is broken down into five combinations that we'll share with our readers over the course of the next few days: 

  • Yoga Combo I – Basic Sun Salutation Warm-Up
  • Yoga Combo II – Sun Salutation
  • Yoga Combo III -Flexibility
  • Yoga Combo IV - Balance
  • Yoga Combo V – Strength
  • Finishing Poses

Yoga Combo I is highlighted below:

  • Mountain Pose
  • Standing Back Bend
  • Forward Fold
  • Back Extension Chest Lift
  • Wrist Stretch
  • Child's Pose
  • Cat/Cow Stretch
  • Downward Facing Dog
  • Back Extension Chest Lift
  • Foward Fold
  • Mountain Pose

 Practice the poses above and look for Yoga Combination II this weekend to include in your pracitice!  *Check out the SPECIAL OFFER for our BLOG READERS*

In Good Health,